top of page
  • Writer's pictureROKE

Damo FYE, Rising Artist out of Kansas City

What first got you into music?

The whole KC music scene itself really pulled me in. From the jazz renaissance to the current hiphop renaissance that is bubbling here, to just being around my family and all the dancing and fun we had at gatherings.

Who inspired you to make music? My family and their collective and individual interests in music really sparked the thought that "I can do this". And then you got J.Cole, Drake, Biggie.. they set the benchmark for me to compare music to and just spoke to me musically.  


How would you describe the music that you typically create?

I consider myself a hiphop purist, so I strive to make sure my music has execution and flows but I am really gearing myself into opening up more to melodies and styles


Where have you performed? Do you have any upcoming shows? and Where is your dream concert?

I've torn the stage down at open mics like Cafe Gratitude, The Buffalo Room, Roxy Bar, Riot Room. I really enjoy the stage so I look forward to making places like Madison Square Garden, The Barclays, Staples Center, etc. But.. my biggest goal is to put on for KC at the Sprint Center. That would be a "moment" for me to be able to get out on that pedestal and really rep for Kansas City!


What is your favorite song to perform?

Summer Nights! That bass and those drums are sexy and they really let you make runs with the lyrics while keeping the crowd going neck to neck. I love the energy!

Describe your creative process for us...

From the outside looking in my process can look a lot like a spontaneous freestyle session. I can get inspired at the drop of a dime and from just about anywhere/anything so a lot of my process is actually just tapping into my imagination and letting shxt flow naturally.


Who would you most like to collaborate with?

Smino! Period.  I'm KC, he's STL so I think him and I could really pull off some Midwest Magik :)

If you could go open a show for any artist who would it be?

Who's Calling!? Adele? EarthGang? Ha! Nah, but for real I'm opening for anyone who's got the draw right now. I'm just looking to really allow myself the opportunity for good exposure. 


What is one message you would give to your fans?

Perseverance. Consistency. Love. Stay focused and dedicated and be ready to wake up every day and tell yourself "I'm going for what I want" and then go and do it.

What would you be doing right now, if it wasn’t for your music career?

I'd probably be finishing up a college degree with a goal to be working in Sports Management. Next to HipHop, Sports is a big big love of mine! 

What song are you most excited about on your upcoming tape?

R!ot. Most definitely R!ot. That's a song with my collective WapGang. Love you guys! They really came through and blessed me with some lovely features. I mean, you heard what they did right? I am just ready for the world to hear what we cooked up. We cooking on the regular but this was a special moment to me.

Describe your (now released) EP for us.

Summer Nights is musical project about a game, that is about life. The idea was to play off the concept of  "Simulation Theory" and give some food for thought without being preachy.


















What’s next for you?

More music, moves, and effort. The work doesn't stop so why should I? I got fans to engage, fans to gain, and nothing to lose. I am going to keep on analyzing and self-reflecting and growing towards finally being able to put KC on the map

Thanks for having me! Shout out WapGang! It's Damo! All Love! KC Got the Goats! 


See You Soon


KEEP UP WITH DAMO BELOW:

https://linktr.ee/DamoFYE





73 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page