top of page
  • Writer's pictureROKE

Meet AU, Bubbling New Jersey Artist

What first got you into music?

I first got into music probably around 5 years old. I grew up in a big household and everyone listened to music. My mom, my uncles, my cousins. I’m talking from Wu-Tang to the Temptations to Shabba lol So yea, that was pretty much my introduction to music.

Who inspired you to make music? Well I had mentioned living with my cousins. The oldest used to rap. I remember we had block parties and some people from the neighborhood would perform and my cousin was one of them. So seeing that as a kid I thought it was cool. I used to write rhymes and show them to my cousin lol. Of course I was rappin' about kid things like the playground or something lol but those are some good memories.


How would you describe the music that you typically create?

I would describe my typical music as artistic. I want to paint a picture every time I create a song. I want to give my listeners a visual every time they hear a song. Even make them think a little. Just like Angels and Demons. You have to pick a side at some point. Life throws so many obstacles at us that at some point we have to chose between making a negative decision or a positive decision. It’s our choice.


Describe your creative process for us...

I start off by looking for an instrumental. I have a few producers I follow on YouTube and I like their sound. After I find a instrumental I normally just freestyle and play around to see where the beat takes me to determine what direction I will take the song.


Who would you most like to collaborate with?

I’d probably most like to collaborate with Kendrick. Merely for his artistic approach to music. If you listen to each album it sounds like it’s own project. It’s different then the next. It’s almost like a theme. 

If you could go open a show for any artist who would it be?

If I could open a show for any artist it’ll probably be Fabolous. He’s been blessing the game for a minute dropping jewels. I think it’ll be dope. 


What is one message you would give to your fans?

One message I would give my fans is to live free. Honestly be yourself. Don’t try to be like other because yourself is good enough. 

What would you be doing right now, if it wasn’t for your music career?

If not for music I would probably be involved in graphic design. Which is something I’m probably still going to do anyway honestly. I have a bunch of ideas I want to execute on so we’ll see. 


Where have you performed? Do you have any upcoming shows? and Where is your dream concert?

I’ve performed once at a spot in Franklin Township, New Jersey. None of my new music though. I would like to perform at the Garden since I’m a Knicks fan, lol that's a whole other topic.


What is your favorite song to perform?

I haven’t performed any new music but I would definitely like to perform the next single that I’m dropping. It’s called “Let Us Pray”. I’ll be dropping that this month. 

What song are you most excited about on your upcoming tape?

I have a few songs I’m excited about honestly. Let Us Pray being one of them. I like the direction my music is going. 

Describe your (now released) EP for us.

My first project is going to be titled “Live Free”. The music content is going to be based on doing just that. They’ll be some inspirational music and hopefully a lot of things everyone can relate to in their everyday lives. 

What’s next for you?

Well next I’m working on some merchandise for fans. I’ll be coming out with shirts soon amongst other things. I don’t want to say too much I don’t like talking on my blessing before I receive them but hopefully everything goes as planned. 

KEEP UP WITH AU BELOW:





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page